VS2012 not loading project -Unable to read project file.

I tried loading a solution I’d been working on at home onto my work machine and one of the projects failed to load with the following error :

Unable to read the project file “blah.vcxproj(150,3): The imported project C:\Program Files(x86)\MSBuild\Microsoft\WindowsPhone\v7.0\Microsoft.Cpp.Windows Phone.7.0.targets” was not found.

This had me going around in circles and there was a distinct lack of helpful posts around.  Some suggested that the problem was that a WP7 app wasn’t compatible with VS2012…..but my app was targetting WP8?!?

After installing and de-installing VS2012 and trying to get various SDKs on my machine I tried again and followed the VS2012 installation with an install of VS2012 Update 4…..and this resolved the issue.   So, it might just be worth giving it a go :

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/confirmation.aspx?id=39305

 

Leave a Reply

